Poetry

Daydreams

Today, I laid my eyes on you.

I have noticed how your eyes seem to blink
quite as often as you speak
Like how stars blink and light up the
dark and cold night sky.

I noticed how your cheeks curled
everytime you speak
How your lips slowly move away
itself to make a smile;
And here I am left mesmerized

I notice how your jawline is perfectly
constructed and I thank God for
being that great engineer;
I am left wondering how your face
makes me be at peace; I could watch you all day.

But, as the shy girl that I am,
Whenever you glance at my side,
I slowly lower down my sight,
looking right, pretending as if I were not looking.
But dear, if that wasn’t the case,
I would have been looking at you quite
longer than I should be.

When you talk to me I’d control my smile.
Making sure I give the right reaction
to every phrase you utter,
Just so you wouldn’t notice how
I smile the whole time just hearing your voice.

When I talk to you I’d make sure
I don’t stare too much in your eyes,
I blink away to your ears, to your hair, at your lips,
somewhere else I’d look at
Just so I could be sure you’d not notice

how I am mesmerized by those eyes
that seem like the beautiful starry night

There was once, I made you laugh so hard of a joke I said,
my heart leaped. That night, I could never sleep.

Thinking, of how many jokes I could
give you just to make you laugh,
How, I would stack up all the jokes I remember so
I can present them all to you when we’d see each other again.

Because making you laugh would be
like building a career; it would be fulfilling.

Making you laugh is the greatest aim
my Id has ever wished for; My superego never complained.
My Ego has never been this whole everytime
your laughter lingers into my ears.

Darling, I could go on days
Imagining, you liking me.

Daydreaming, whispering to my head “you could like me too”.

But I know love would
never go further with us.

Dear, I have severed a long list of
heartaches of unrequited love,
I hope this unrequited love would be worth it.

But even if this is unrequited, You know as a child,
I had wishes that were granted

Just in case, it might slip in your mind,
Please, just this time,
I hope, Love,
my wish will be granted.

Leave a Reply

